Annie of Ainsworth's Mill

Annie of Ainsworth's Mill

A moving and dramatic Victorian saga of star-crossed lovers

Katie Hutton

$12.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

A gripping and emotional cross-cultural love story for readers of Dilly Court and Glenda Young.

1897

Young Annie Maguire is leaving the only home she has ever known, the family farm in County Down, Ireland. Driven away by poverty and the death of Annie's mother, she and her beloved father are looking for a place to start again and settle in Cleator Moor, Cumberland.

Robert McClure also grew up in County Down. The illegitimate son of a land agent and the cook from the big house, he spent his childhood being moved from pillar to post, never sure who he was or where he belonged. That is until he found himself in Cleator Moor and invited to join the Orange Order, a Protestant Society.

On the 12th of July, day of the Orange March, Annie and Robert meet. Sparks instantly fly, but Annie has been brought up Catholic and is devoted to her community and religion. Brought together by chance, but with backgrounds worlds apart, Annie and Robert will have to fight to be together. But can their love really survive when the weight of the community is against them?

Don't miss Katie Hutton's other heart-wrenching sagas, The Gypsy Bride and The Gypsy's Daughter. Available now.

- - - - - -

Praise for Katie Hutton


'Love, loss and everything in between. Another fabulous read by Katie Hutton.' Lynn Johnson, author of Wartime with the Tram Girls

'Cleverly balanced between two worlds and weaves a story that's well-written, exciting and full of Romani charm.' Shirley Mann, author of Lily's War and Bobby's War on The Gypsy's Daughter

'Cracking characters, tender love story, impeccably researched historical detail. I loved it . . . I couldn't put it down.' Elizabeth Woodcraft, author of The Saturday Girls and The Girls from Greenway

'At times, heartbreaking. At others, heartwarming. This is the enchanting story of a young woman's struggle to recover from the traumatic events of her past.' Jennifer Page, author of Freedom from Loneliness

'A poignant and compelling story of trauma and the healing power of love: its many voices ring true and a past era in England is evoked with cinematic precision.' Maybelle Wallis, author of Heart of Cruelty

'An original gem . . . Captivating.' Patricia O'Reilly, author of The First Rose of Tralee


Author

Katie Hutton:
Katie Hutton is Irish but now lives in northern Tuscany, with her Italian husband and two teenage sons. She writes mainly historical fiction on the themes of love and culture clash. The Gypsy Bride is her debut novel in this genre, with The Gypsy's Daughter following in 2021. Katie is a member of the Historical Novel Society, the Irish Writers Centre, and the Romantic Novelists' Association, and reviews for Historical Novel Review. In her spare time she volunteers with a second-hand book charity of which she is a founder member.

Info

Reviews